## The VTTA Surrey/Sussex Group

Open 25 MILE TIME TRIAL on Sunday 22<sup>nd</sup> September 2019

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations





keithwilkinson@talktalk.net

Event held on **COURSE G 25/89** 

Timekeeper Su Balcombe (Brighton Excelsior CC)

#### Prize and award winners

The Robin Buchan Trophy - Greatest plus on VTTA age Standard by a Surrey/Sussex Group member Adrian BLACKER C & N Cycles RT

The Pound Hill Trophy -Greatest aggregate plus on Standard by a team of 3 Surrey/Sussex Group members:-

Jon FAIRCLOUGH Woking Cycle Club +8:21 Woking Cycle Club Conor BOYLE Eimear D'ARCY Woking Cycle Club

VTTA medal +2:31 VTTA medal +1:27 VTTA medal

Total plus for team: 12m. 19s.

Highest plus on VTTA age standard :-

1st	Mark VOWELLS	CC Bexley (member of Kent Group)	+ 18:36 (Trike)	£50.00
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Adrian BLACKER	C & N Cycles RT	+ 13:21	£35.00
3rd	Paul THOMPSON	Epsom CC	+13:03	£25.00

Fastest on Actual time :-

1 <sup>st</sup>	Fabien LARGE	Nopinz	0:55:09	£30.00
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Stuart BETTIS	South Downs Bikes / Casco Pet	0:55:12	£20.00
Fast	est lady rider :-			

1st Pip JENKINS Southborough & Dist. Whs. 1:02:57 £25.00

The trophies & medals will be presented at our VTTA Surrey/ Sussex annual lunch on Sunday 2<sup>nd</sup> February 2020 at The Normandy Centre, Denne Road, Horsham. RH12 1JF. We hope that the winners will come to this

#### THANK YOU FOR ENTERING OUR VTTA SURREY / SUSSEX OPEN '25' EVENT

After the very wet conditions for the event in 2018 I thought that we were going to get a repeat this year, but fortunately the dire weather forecasts were proved to be wrong and apart from the wet road surface it was a fairly ideal late September morning for racing.

Congratulations to junior rider Fabien Large on recording the fastest time and with the top 5 all doing 55 minute rides the competition was fairly close. You may not be aware that Graeme Obree's long standing course record was broken in the ESCA event the previous Sunday by Dan Bigham with 48m.19s. Something to aim for next year?

If you are aged over 40 and are not currently a member of the VTTA please consider joining. Go to the website vtta.org.uk and click on the membership tab at the top for details. If you join after 1st October you get 3 extra months free as your first year will run to 31/12/2020.

My grateful thanks to the following people as without their help on the day the event would not have taken place:-MARSHALS - Tim and Romana Miles & Nick Wilson (Boship roundabout).

Michael Turner (Little Horsted) & Oliver Tuckley (The Shaw roundabout) TIMEKEEPER - Su Balcombe PUSHER OFF & NUMBER TAKER- Dave Pollard. PUTTING OUT THE SIGNS - Peter Moon, TEA BAR and CAKES - Judy Wilkinson COMPUTER EXPERT - very efficiently producing all the results at the HQ - Ann Human.

Keith Wilkinson (East Surrey RC) - Event secretary on behalf of the VTTA Surrey/Sussex Group.

# VTTA SURREY /SUSSEX GROUP'S '25' ON 22/09/19

### **Result on VTTA Standard times for all veterans**

Pos. on Standard	Start number	Name	Club	Category	Plus on Standard	Actual Time	VTTA Group
1	32	Mark Vowells	CC Bexley	V (Tr)	+ 18:36	1:02:43	Kent
2	35	Adrian Blacker	C and N Cycles RT	V	+ 13:21	0:55:42	Sy/Sx
3	31	Paul Thompson	Epsom CC	V	+ 13:03	0:55:48	
4	21	David Clark	Eastbourne Rovers CC	V	+ 12:16	0:55:47	Sy/Sx
5	36	Keith Walker	Wigmore CC	V	+ 12:02	0:56:49	
6	50	Richard Gifford	trainSharp	V	+ 11:59	0:57:17	Sy/Sx
7	10	Carl Richardson	trainSharp	V	+ 11:31	0:57:32	Sy/Sx
8	37	Roland Kitson	Horsham Cycling	V	+ 10:40	0:59:34	
9	15	Tony Reeves	GS Stella	V	+ 10:11	0:57:29	
10	42	Simon Underwood	CC Topp	V	+ 10:06	0:57:34	
11	28	Ben Fielden	GS Stella	٧ .	+ 09:14	1:08:28	Sy/Sx
12	23	Benjamin Jones	Penge Cycle Club	V	+ 08:50	0:59:13	Kent
13	12	Jon Fairclough	Woking Cycle Club	V	+ 08:21	1:03:23	Sy/Sx
14	33	Peter Davies	Brighton Mitre CC	V	+ 05:31	1:05:16	
15	14	Barrie Foster	Anerley BC	V	+ 04:57	1:08:45	Sy/Sx
16	48	Peter Owen	Norwood Paragon CC	V	+ 04:50	1:04:54	
17	13	Robert Royle-Evatt	Addiscombe CC	V	+ 03:14	1:05:12	Sy/Sx
18	16	Conor Boyle	Woking Cycle Club	V	+ 02:31	1:04:45	Sy/Sx
19	29	Eimear D'Arcy	Woking Cycle Club	WV	+ 01:27	1:12:11	Sy/Sx
20	26	Richard Llewellyn	Imperial Racing Team	V	- 00:04	1:07:09	
21	9	Robin Johnson	Brighton Mitre CC	V	- 01:53	1:16:03	Sy/Sx
22	34	Gary Holder	VTTA (Surrey/ Sussex)	V	- 10:05	1:18:56	Sy/Sx

# **Result for VTTA Surrey / Sussex Members**

Position	Name	Club	Category	Plus on Standard	Actual Time
1	Adrian Blacker	C and N Cycles RT	V	+ 13:21	0:55:42
2	David Clark Eastbourne Rovers CC		V	+ 12:16	0:55:47
3	Richard Gifford	trainSharp	V	+ 11:59	0:57:17
4	Carl Richardson	trainSharp	V	+ 11:31	0:57:32
5	Ben Fielden	GS Stella	V	+ 09:14	1:08:28
6	Jon Fairclough	Woking Cycle Club	V	+ 08:21	1:03:23
7	Barrie Foster	Anerley BC	V	+ 04:57	1:08:45
8	Robert Royle-Evatt	Addiscombe CC	V	+ 03:14	1:05:12
9	Conor Boyle	Woking Cycle Club	V	+ 02:31	1:04:45
10	Eimear D'Arcy	Woking Cycle Club	WV	+ 01:27	1:12:11
11	Robin Johnson	Brighton Mitre CC	V	- 01:53	1:16:03
12	Gary Holder	VTTA (Surrey/ Sussex)	V	- 10:05	1:18:56

## **Result on actual times**

Position	Start number	Name	Club	Category	Actual time	Plus on standard
1	25	Fabien Large	NOPINZ	Jn	0:55:09	-
2	30	Stuart Bettis	South Downs Bikes / Casco Pet	S	0:55:12	-
3	35	Adrian Blacker	C and N Cycles RT	V	0:55:42	+ 13:21
4	21	David Clark	Eastbourne Rovers CC	V	0:55:47	+ 12:16
5	31	Paul Thompson	Epsom CC	V	0:55:48	+ 13:03
6	36	Keith Walker	Wigmore CC	V	0:56:49	+ 12:02
7	50	Richard Gifford	trainSharp	V	0:57:17	+ 11:59
8	15	Tony Reeves	GS Stella	V	0:57:29	+ 10:11
9	10	Carl Richardson	trainSharp	V	0:57:32	+ 11:31
10	42	Simon Underwood	CC Topp	V	0:57:34	+ 10:06
11	43	Paul Newsome	Project 51	S	0:58:47	-
12	23	Benjamin Jones	Penge Cycle Club	V	0:59:13	+ 08:50
13	37	Roland Kitson	Horsham Cycling	V	0:59:34	+ 10:40
14	32	Mark Vowells	CC Bexley	V (Tr)	1:02:43	+ 18:36
15	41	Pip Jenkins	Southborough & Dist. Whs	WS	1:02:57	-
16	12	Jon Fairclough	Woking Cycle Club	V	1:03:23	+ 08:21
17	16	Conor Boyle	Woking Cycle Club	V	1:04:45	+ 02:31
18	48	Peter Owen	Norwood Paragon CC	V	1:04:54	+ 04:50
19	13	Robert Royle-Evatt	Addiscombe CC	V	1:05:12	+ 03:14
20	33	Peter Davies	Brighton Mitre CC	V	1:05:16	+ 05:31
21	26	Richard Llewellyn	Imperial Racing Team	V	1:07:09	- 00:04
22	28	Ben Fielden	GS Stella	V	1:08:28	+ 09:14
23	14	Barrie Foster	Anerley BC	V	1:08:45	+ 04:57
24	29	Eimear D'Arcy	Woking Cycle Club	WV	1:12:11	+ 01:27
25	9	Robin Johnson	Brighton Mitre CC	V	1:16:03	- 01:53
26	34	Gary Holder	VTTA (Surrey/ Sussex)	V	1:18:56	- 10:05
-	40	David Triska	Team Bottrill	S	DNF(P/ture.)	-
esso	11	Peter Baker	Lewes Wanderers CC	√V	DNS (Apol.)	-
=	17	Olivia Webb	Eastbourne Rovers CC	WV	DNS	-
ange	18	Ben Hope	In-Gear	V	DNS	Hide
100	19	Tim Miles	Hastings & St. Leonards CC	V	DNS (Apol.)	-
em	20	Tom Hilder	trainSharp	S	DNS	-
600	22	Donald Parker	Brighton Mitre CC	V	DNS	_
869	24	Edward Tuckley	Lewes Wanderers CC	S	DNS (Apol.)	-
-	27	Phil Gall	Epsom CC	V	DNS	_
569	38	Edwin Wagena	Brighton Mitre CC	V	DNS	-
in .	39	Mark Hancock	Anerley BC	V	DNS	-
MB	44	John Bush	Maidenhead & District CC	V	DNS	-
	45	David Rumm	Southborough & Dist. Whs	V	DNS (Apol.)	-
000	46	Colin Harrison	East Grinstead CC (Merlin Cycle Coaching)	V	DNS (Apol.)	_
550	47	Christopher O'Hearn	Dulwich Paragon CC	V	DNS	-
	49	Chih-Hao Lin	Crystal Palace Triathletes	S	DNS	_